Tennis Facts for Kids

History of Tennis Timeline

1872: The first lawn tennis club in the world is formed in Leamington, Warwickshire

1873: Major Wingerfield invented the game called "Spharistike" introduced in to the UK

1875: The first rules for tennis published. The Marylebone Cricket Club made significant changes to the game. They added Deuce, Advantage and two chances per serve

1877: The All England Croquet Club stages the first men's singles championship at Wimbledon, held at Worple Road. Only 22 players entered the tournament

1880: The Overhead Smash was introduced into the game by the Renshaw brothers

1881: The United States National Lawn Tennis Association (USNLTA) is founded, and the first US Championships are played, though only for American citizens until 1885

1884: Wimbledon championships are open to women for the first time

1891: The French Open is played for the first time  but is only open to French residents

1896: Tennis included for the first time in the staging of the modern Olympics

1990: Davis Cup introduced, but entries only from Britain and the United States

1913: The International Lawn Tennis Federation (ILTF) is founded in Paris with 12 nations, with the aim of operation 4 major tennis Championships

1922: The Australasian Championships are open to women for the first time

1925: The French Championships open to non-French residents for the first time

1937: Wimbledon is the first tennis tournament to be televised

1940: From 1940 to 1945, World War II puts a hold on Wimbledon and the French Open.

1955: Changes in rules so that news balls were changed after the first seven games and then each subsequent nine instead of after each set

1968: The "Open Era" of tennis begins so both amateurs and professionals compete in the same tennis tournaments

1979: At Wimbledon the tie-break was changed to come into play at a score in games of 6-6

1990: ATP Tour launched. McEnroe first to be defaulted at a Grand Slam tournament

1998: A record 131 entries for the Davis Cup.

2000: The ATP Champions Race is launched and the Tennis Masters Series is established